top of page
  • Writer's pictureMindMoxieMama

Moxie Monday: "When you've got moxie, you need the clothes to match."

Updated: Jul 2, 2019


Sometimes to feel good on the inside, you need to put your best foot forward. Dress for success, if you will! I think beauty comes from within but sometimes when you're wearing a great outfit and feeling fly, your inner beauty is illuminated.

"In a world full of trends, I want to remain a classic"

I am not one to preach on sustainability as my closet is full and overflowing with items that never get worn and are wasting precious space. However, I do value the idea of being more mindful of clothing purchases as to not indulge in trends that will end up wasting space in my closet or at the Goodwill or at the landfill. 

My style and taste tend to lean towards classic, basics anyways.  Although some may view this as boring or bland, I have some ideas on how to add flavor with simple touches.  I look to Parisian stylists to find my classic basic pieces and with that I will share with you items I have had for 10 years or plan to have for 10 years.  I take pride in looking at old photos and liking what I was wearing. I hope in the future to have that same impact when I look at photos of the present.




1. Button Downs. I have one in chambray, white, and black.  I'd love to get short sleeve versions as well but I will hold off until I clear out the waste in my closet space!




2. Solid tees/tanks. Navy, Black, White, and Gray.  I love to mix in a few pretty colors here and there. For me, olive green is my go to because I feel like it goes well with my skin tone and hair. 





3. Jacket/Blazer Jean Jacket. Black Blazer. Leather Jacket. You pick!








5. Neutral Prints Leopard, gingham, polka dots!  I have a leopard wallet and a leopard umbrella that are perfect accessories.





7. Tried and true LBD.  I have a few...  I love this LND..Little navy dress.  I could easily dress this up or down.




8.  Jeans. White jeans, black jeans, jeans.  I am so picky about jeans, I tend to put this one off in actually purchasing. But if I find a good pair, I'll invest. 




9.  Bag I love cognac color because it can be worn with black, brown, or navy. And it looks great in all of the seasons.





 

And now for FLAVOR!

Flavor is where you can be trendy, expressive, and unique. Incorporate trendy shoes/bags/earrings to a classic outfit! 


Add a scarf. I love a pretty hair scarf. It is so feminine and practical.  Or tie it around your neck for some flair.




Cover those dogs with something colorful shoes.  I love red pumps, fun heels,  mustard mules, and striped flats.





Add a pop of red lipstick.  Or pink. Or orange-red.  




Big ole earrings. I like to keep my jewelry very simple. Maybe some shiny studs, a simple pendant necklace, and a thin bangle.  But ifmy outfit is particularly neutral, I love to add some obnoxious earring to the mix.  




I would recommend only adding 1 to 2 pieces of FLAVOR to your outfit. All of the above will lose the classic appeal. My overall goal is effortless chic. :)



120 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page